Things I would do if I lost my job today

In the spirit of recession-related news, my friend KBosco and I were talking about what we’d do if we didn’t have our jobs. And with that in mind, here’s my list of things I’d do if I got a pink slip today:

1. Stand in line at the unemployment office to get that mon-ey.

2. Take those dollars to TicketMaster to purchase some NKOTB concert tickets. (It’s not that I love them so much, but that I would have the chance to see them in concert in two different centuries. Only the second time around, I’d skip the Hammer pants.)

3. Find my backpack from the first time I went to Europe, sew some shit on it, and go back again. Apparently they like us now.

4. Write a book of essays detailing how people in my life have wronged me, then provide an appendix filled with information on how to get revenge how to be nice to me from now on.

5. Invest some serious time in finding more followers for my Twitter profile. I’m woefully behind, evidently. Ashton Kutcher has the population of a really large city following him. What gives?

6. Buy a surf board and move to the coast.

7. I can’t surf, but I’m thinking it will give me some legitimacy with the beach crowd, so after a week or so, I’d sell it.

8. Go to work with BB one day. I think if those awful people at his job saw what I bitch I am, they’d leave him alone. It’s similar to beating them up for their lunch money, only BB is the lunch money.

9. Become that woman that’s always in her yard. I like to plant stuff, but I don’t have the time to maintain it. I’d kind of like to be one of those chicks that’s like, “Yeah, I totally grew that. And that. And that, that and that.”

10. Spend some of my unemployment dinero on a Wii. I don’t have one, I’ve never played with one, and frankly I don’t know what I’d do with it. But that’s not the point, see.

11. Visit my friends that live all over the world. Except not all of them, because only some of them live in really interesting places. And only some of them are worth making a trip to see. (Sorry, but it’s the truth. I’m only talking about you if you failed to keep up your end of the “we’ll keep in touch FOREVER!” bargain.)

12. Take pictures of things.

13. Sell those pictures to some unsuspecting asshats in order to fund my trips abroad.

14. Alright FINE. I’d look for another job.

listbutton

One thought on “Things I would do if I lost my job today

Leave a comment